The Case of the Missing Earring

9 Apr

Not long ago my daughter got her ears pierced thanks to a deal with her mom. Inevitably, she lost the backing of one of her earrings. If no one noticed, it’s quite possible one of her brand new earrings would have vanished that day. But her mom noticed immediately and replaced the missing backing with one of her own.

Today we went to the piercing salon so my daughter could get a new backing and give back her mom’s. Even just the mention of a visit prompted my daughter to focus on my ear lobes,  specifically my left one. The signs of a former piercing caught her attention a long time ago and she remains curious about it to this day. The questions started while we were having lunch at Chip’s Old Fashioned Hamburger in Dallas.

“Tell me again why you got an earring,” she blurted.

I wish I had a fascinating answer. I got it while visiting my sister Rhonda at Nazareth College in the late 1990s. We were at the mall with a cousin and I just got it done spontaneously. I didn’t give it much thought. It was more of a “why not?”  moment.

The questions from my daughter continued. I felt like I was being interviewed.

“Why did you take it out?” she asked.

A natural next question. 

“I stopped wearing it when I took a job in TV,” I explained.

I’m not sure why I assumed that would be a sufficient explanation. It definitely didn’t answer her question. I think I’m training her to not let her subjects be evasive.

“But why did you take it out when you took a job in TV?” she asked impatiently.

“I got a job where they wouldn’t want boys to wear earrings,” I quickly replied. 

At the time I was working as a radio DJ at Z-93 and added a gig as a fill-in weatherman at WWNY in Watertown, New York.

When she heard this information, she found a new direction in her line of questioning.

“Why didn’t you just get a job where they would let you wear earrings?” she asked.

She caugh me off guard. I had to think carefully how to respond. But I think I came up with a solid answer.

“I really wanted the job more than I wanted the earring,” I explained.

I was ready for her next question. I figured she was on a roll and far from done. I was wrong. She slowly turned her attention to the corn dogs in front of her and started eating.

Maybe that was all the information she needed or maybe her corn dogs suddenly seemed more interesting than my answers. At any rate, the case of the missing earring came to a close for now.

But I’m not letting my guard down. I’m sure her curiosity about my missing earring will strike again soon.

Leave a Reply

